Monday Morning Chit-Chat, I Ran Out of Time so I had to Put My Make-up on at Work Edition!

Today’s Monday Morning Chit-Chat, brought to you by Carla:

Image

At the park on Saturday with the triplets.  Four babies and four adults, and yet we still could have used and extra set of eyes and hands! The husband snapped this in a rare moment when all four were on the blanket at the same time.

What are you:

Reading? Read a “Jon Snow” chapter from Game of Thrones . . . I’m on book three now and I must say it’s getting much more interesting!

 Watching? Caught up on a few episodes of Real Housewives of New York last night. My hubby watches the RH of OC with me but draws the line at New York.  He insists I turn it off when he’s in ear shot because their voices are so annoying.  I completely agree but yet I continue to watch.  🙂

Listening To? Nothing – absolute silence around me!  Just the sound of typing.

Baking/Cooking? I’m making a veggie lasagna tonight with squash from a friend’s garden so I’m expecting it to be totally yum.  Tomorrow will be homemade pesto pizza (I prepped the crust dough on Sunday morning).

Happy you accomplished this week? Continued with the envelope system for groceries and eating out and so far so good!

Looking forward to next week? It’s a short work week for me – just 3.5 days as I’m taking Friday off for a “Mother’s Day Off” to get my hair done and spend the day however I’d like (probably crafting and/or watching back episodes of Downton Abbey).  Thursday afternoon is the husband’s company picnic.  Sounds like good fun.

Thankful for today? Air conditioning – it’s going to be hot this week and I’m glad we have it both at home and in the office!

*Bonus Question*

Grab the book nearest you, turn to page 18, line 4, and type out what it says. The nearest book to me is “Bryson’s Dictionary for Writers and Editors” by Bill Bryson and the 4th line on pg.18 reads: “apogee. The highest or most distant point, usually in reference to orbiting bodies. Its opposite is perigee.” Hm, well how about that.

*

This weekend was a really busy one!  Saturday we were bouncing all over the place. . .

AJ had her 3rd swim lesson at the YMCA. Husband gets in the pool with her and they have a great time. This time AJ was dunked under water (ugh! I’m glad R was in the water – I wouldn’t have been able to do it) but she did great! She looked a little confused and wasn’t a fan of the water in her eyes, but no tears!

We had lunch in Cardiff with our friends A & E.  Now that AJ is walking, eating out is becoming more rare because it’s such a pain to wrangle her.  Sitting in the high chair is fine for about 10 minutes, and then it’s all about exploring.  I took her outside to walk around and she fell and got her first skinned knee.  I felt AWFUL.  Again, it didn’t seem to faze her at all but I was crushed.  Poor baby.  I swear, it was if MY knee had been scraped! Ugh.

In the afternoon we drove down to North Park to see our friends with the 16 month old triplets.  It was the first time I’d seen them in about 10 months – they moved, very briefly, to Texas and are now in San Diego for my friend’s husband’s job.  We are glad to have them back and AJ has more playmates her size. 🙂 I think she met her match with the three boys! And I have to just say, my girlfriend, R, is a saint in my eyes.  I don’t know how she manages to stay so calm and sane with triplets in a tiny 3 bed, 1 bath 1920s bungalow sans a/c.  A saint I say!

Sunday was a little bit more calm. . . chores in the morning, grocery shopping, and then a trip to the park with the little one. While we were playing near the jungle gym, a 16-month old toddler came rushing at AJ and pushed her right down on her tush.  The dad came over and apologized and of course I said it wasn’t a problem (and it wasn’t – AJ just looked a little inquisitive about what the heck happened but again, no tears!).  It’s going to be interesting to see how AJ adapts to toddler-hood.  I’m sure that little one has just realized the power of pushing and is testing out how many things she can topple over, babies included. 😉

And now, here we are, it’s Monday morning.  I guess my little one is getting SOME toddler tendencies, as this morning she really didn’t want to get dressed so it was a much longer process of putting on her onesie, pants, shoes, socks and basically getting her presentable (enough) for daycare.  That’s why I was sitting at my desk, 30 minutes late, hoping that no one would swing by as I was applying my mascara and blush. 🙂

Leave a Reply

