Monday Afternoon Chit-Chat: Park Edition

We went to the park three times this weekend! It’s our new favorite weekend activity.

This week’s Monday Afternoon Chit-Chat brought to you by Carla:

Reading? Working away (about 25% complete) on book three of “Game of Thrones.” Keeping all of the characters and plot lines straight is good brain exercise!  There so many layers to these books but I’m enjoying the series immensely!

Watching? I wanted to watch The Bachelorette finale last night but no dice, it seems like the audio on our TV went out.  Hope it’s not permanent!

Listening to? Random office noises.

Cooking/Baking? This week’s menu includes fish, cous cous and zucchini (tonight), pasta with feta, tomatoes and spinach (tomorrow) and Mexican Casserole (Wednesday & Thursday). Yesterday I made a really yummy blueberry oat bread – I hope to have time to post about it later this week, it turned out so good!

Happy you accomplished this week? Ah, my mind is coming up blank.  I guess I’ll say I’m happy that I accomplished mopping the kitchen and entryway floors on Sunday. That’s one chore that often gets pushed aside for other tasks.

Looking forward to this week? I’m looking forward to having a day off on Friday.  I’m also taking Thursday off but am not as excited about it – I’m going to be hanging out with my step-mom in the hospital waiting room while my dad has surgery to remove a few teeth and some precancerous gum tissue.

Thankful for today? That a recent CAT scan revealed that the abnormal precancerous cells found in my dad’s gum haven’t spread to his jaw bone.

*Bonus Question*

What is your favourite summer food and/or drink treat? I love, love, love summer fruit: citrus, peaches, melons and, my personal favorite, blue berries!!  And everything is so inexpensive, too!

*

Our weekend was yet another whirlwind.  My dad and step-mom came to AJ’s last scheduled swim lesson at the Y.  The lesson was cut short about 10 minutes into it. I’m not sure why but everyone was ordered out of the pool – I can only speculate that one of the kids had an accident! They opened the splash pad so DH and AJ had fun playing there for the remainder of the lesson time.  Later in the afternoon, after AJ’s nap and our lunch, all of us went to the park. It was the first time AJ was skilled enough with walking to enjoy roaming around the playground equipment. My dad had so much fun showing her how to climb the stairs to a small slide.  As it turns out, she’s quite the thrill seeker! I got a great video of her gleefully laughing as we pushed her on a swing.  It was so cute!

On Sunday, while DH was surfing mid-morning, I decided to take the baby to another park nearby. We ate lunch in the shade of a tree and we roamed the playground equipment again before heading out the grocery store (I need to post an update in another post but I’m still doing the envelope/cash system and it’s working out great!). In the afternoon I got about 90 minutes to myself while DH and the baby napped together – that was pure decadence!  I finished knitting AJ a winter beanie (more on that this Wednesday).  We wrapped up the day with another trip to the park – it’s truly the best way to wear the little one out.  She slept so soundly last night . . . and so did I!

 Have a great week, everyone!

Peace and love,

Margie

 

Leave a Reply

