Bringing Up Baby: She’s a Toddler Now!

Newborn AJ: 12 hours old

AJ at 11 months

How did it go so fast??

 This morning DH and I had our “needs and services” meeting with the lead teacher of the toddler room at AJ’s childcare center. We took a tour of what will be AJ’s new learning environment for the next year and discussed what we as parents should expect.  As the teacher was showing us the diaper-changing area she pointed to a miniature sink about two feet of the ground and a miniature working toilet.  She said that when bubs is ready, she will start washing her own hands and, a little later down the road if she’s curious, she can try out the potty.  I’m a little embarrassed to admit that this had me in tears.  My little baby is not such a baby anymore! Wahh!  She’s learning to become more independent and do things on her own! This is a bittersweet moment.  While I know she’s ready for the transition (all of the children she was playing with in the infant room recently moved over and now she’s the eldest by several months), it breaks my heart to see how big she is.  It really is true what they say about parenting . . . “the days are long but the years are short.” ::Sad sigh:: I know that at every stage there is something to worry about.  And while I know that worry gets you nowhere, there are certainly things I have concerns about as we make this transition. 1) Partial weaning.  I’ve been pumping at work since I returned from maternity.  In the beginning I pumped 3x/day.  Then it went down to 2x/day a few months ago.  As of this past Monday, I started pushing my mid-morning pump session a little later and eliminating the late afternoon session. I’ll continue at this pace for a few more weeks and soon I hope to be all done with the pump (until baby #2).  I can’t say that I have loved pumping but I am proud that I kept up with it despite the challenges. I’m not ready to wean Bubs completely and I don’t think she’s quite ready yet either. So at night and in the morning we’ll continue to nurse. This leads me to wonder,  what kind of milk should she drink during the day? The center provides whole cow’s milk for the children as part of the cost of tuition.  However, we are welcome to bring in alternatives if we’d like. I wonder what the best option is . . . I need to do some research.  2) AJ is still on a 2-3 nap/day schedule.  In the toddler room there is one nap in the middle of the day after lunch.  I worry about her transition to this new routine.  They sleep on cots instead of cribs.  There isn’t any rocking. I forgot to ask if there is a sound machine.  The teacher said that usually the children are so tired from the activity (prior to nap time is art/music, outdoor time and lunch) that by the time nap time rolls around they are ready to nap and remain asleep for much longer.  I hope this is the case with AJ as well. 3)Breakfast, two snacks a day and lunch are provided but I’m not super thrilled about the menu options.  A menu is posted at the start of the week.  This is what’s on the schedule this week for lunch: tuna roll ups with lettuce and cheese, chicken nuggets with green beans and pears, turkey sandwiches with carrots and apples, and burritos with corn and peaches (no lunch on Friday, school is closed). Am I crazy or do some of these things sound unhealthy or just a little “old” for toddlers.  For instance, chicken nuggets? Turkey sandwiches?  I’m not a fan of processed foods, especially for the little one.  And I’m not crazy about lunch meat (although I’m eating some this week in my lunches – still, it’s a rare thing).  I’m probably being a little neurotic but I told the teacher that I’d like to supplement AJ’s meals with things from home.  She said that was fine as long as it was easy to prep and didn’t require extra work.  I’m happy that they accommodate me but I worry if AJ will want to eat what the other kids are eating and refuse my food?  I guess I will just have to roll with the punches on that one. We’ll see how it goes!  In the meantime, I’m planning a teacher appreciation gift for AJ’s infant room teachers (there are three).  I can’t buy supplies until the weekend after next when I get paid, but this is what I was thinking of: Pinned Image

 (via Pinterest and Giggles and Galore)In other news, tomorrow I’m taking a vacation day so that I can sit with my step-mom in the hospital waiting room while my dad has surgery to remove some tooth implants and gum tissue that appears to be pre-cancerous.  As I think I mentioned on Monday, a recent CAT scan showed that everything appears normal with the bone. A few years ago they found cancer in his gum around these implants and he had some work done.  Since then he’s been cancer free . . . until a recent doctor appointment when they found the abnormalities.  We’re hoping that the implants are the problem and that once they are removed he’ll be good from here on out!

Friday is an off day for me because AJ’s childcare center is closed for a professional development day.  I’m not sad that I get to have the day off and I’m looking forward to getting a head start on my weekend chores with a few trips to the park thrown in! 🙂

Hope you are all having a good week and I’d love to know . . . do you have any tips to help make this new transition from infant room to toddler room easier on all of us? 

Peace and love,

Margie

 

 

Leave a Reply

