I’m still here!!

I guess I took a bit of an unplanned blog hiatus.  I didn’t mean to but life just got in the way I guess.  But I’ve really wanted to revisit this blog many times over the last few weeks . . . and I’ve been REALLY wanting to comment and socialize with other bloggers, but I felt like I couldn’t until I updated here! 

Here’s an abbreviated version of what happened over the summer:

Celebrated AJ’s first birthday at the park with family and friends:

Happy 1st Birthday!

I made a vanilla cake and cupcakes frosted with raspberry buttercream icing . . . which proceeded to melt on the crazy hot day (but they were pretty while it lasted!).

Cake!

AJ took swim lessons on Saturdays at the Y and enjoyed ALMOST every minute of it (not so much a fan of the dunking but the “motor boat” song was a definite highlight of every lesson):

Playing at the splash pad before swim lessons.

We took a Saturday drive up to Huntington Beach to visit an old Air Force buddy of DH’s.

Enjoying the sun and surf on the HB pier.

 One Sunday afternoon in September we went to our local Oktoberfest for some brew and bratwurst (well, I enjoyed the brat, DH passed being that he’s a veggie):

AJ enjoyed “dancing” to the music. Cute stuff!

There were other things too but mostly I can sum it up as: trips to the park, trips to the park and more trips to the park. And we worked and cleaned and made meals and saw friends and family . . . Overall it was a good if not slightly mellow summer. 

And now for a Monday Morning Chit Chat post – it’s been a LONG time since I participated and happy to be back! (Brought to you by My 1/2  Dozen Daily).

Captivated by the leaves and sky!

Reading: Yup, I’m still plodding along with The Game of Thrones – about 70 percent through a Book 3 and woah!  FINALLY things are starting to happen and get interesting!

Watching: Real Housewives of Miami on our DVR this morning.

Listening to: Miles Davis – a little jazz on this over cast day puts me in the mood to write!

Cooking/Baking: I prepped spinach and artichoke baked pasta yesterday for tonight’s dinner.  Can’t wait!

Happy you accomplished this week: I’m happy that we had such a good weekend – a great balance of time at home to do chores/prep/laundry while getting in some quality time with friends and with just DH and my girl.  It’s hard to find that balance but this weekend we actually did!

Looking forward to next week: Saturday DH and I are checking out the Open House of a new townhouse development – we are feeling ready to think about buying a home of our own and this will be the first time we actually go check out a property other than just do neighborhood drive-bys.  On Sunday we are taking AJ on her first trip to the pumpkin patch!! 

Thankful for today: A really lovely weekend leaving me feeling refreshed and ready for the week ahead.

*Bonus Question*

Do you “switch out” your purse when the seasons change? No, not really.  In Southern California the season change is very subtle. As it gets cooler I do tend to work in more of my fall and winter clothes but let’s be real, my version of winter clothing is probably a lot different from a person’s who lives in the mid west and deals with snow and other chilly elements!  I’m carrying a black canvas purse right now with leather detailing (a second-hand Coach) and will probably continue to carry it through the end of the year and into 2013.

Leave a Reply

